Advanced Economic History / Histoire économique avancée

(Master APE & PPD, EHESS & Paris School of Economics)

Thomas Piketty  -  Academic year 2018-2019


(Full syllabus : see PSE teaching home page)

Email : name at

Office: Jourdan R5-04

Course web page :


"Advanced economic history" is an optional second-year master course that is highly recommended for students wishing to specialize in economic history and related subjects. This is a collective course designed by the members of the Centre d'histoire économique et sociale François-Simiand. The objective is to present a broad introduction to various research areas in economic history.

"Advanced Economic History" is jointly taught by Facundo Alvaredo, Jérôme Bourdieu, Denis Cogneau, Lionel Kesztenbaum, Eric Monnet and Thomas Piketty. The two lectures taught by Thomas Piketty focus upon the long-run evolution of property regimes and political systems, with emphasis on the transition from ternary societies to proprietary societies and the interaction between inequality and party systems in modern electoral democracies.

Although this is not a formal prerequisite, I assume that students have already taken the "Introduction to Economic History" course and are familiar with the basic facts regarding the historical evolution of income and wealth, the changing composition of capital ownership, etc. Students who have not taken this course (or need to refresh their memory) are strongly encouraged to go through the syllabus and slides used in this course.

"Adavanced Economic History" is organized in 12 lectures of 3 hours. To validate the course, students are required (1) to attend and actively participate to all lectures; (2) to take the exam.


Lecture 1-8 by L. Kesztenbaum/E. Monnet/F. Alvaredo/D. Cogneau


Lecture 9: Property Regimes and Political Systems in Historical Perspective: From Ternary Societies to Proprietary Societies (T. Piketty)

Thursday November 29th 2018, 16h30-19h30


Lecture 10: Property Regimes and Political Systems in Historical Perspective: Party Systems and Inequality in Electoral Democracies (T. Piketty)

Wednesday December 5th 2018, 16h30-19h30


Lecture 11-12 by J. Bourdieu